Crafting for Habitat

 

Hi all,

Today I’d like to share one of my most recent, non-fiber related projects. For the past few months, I’ve been volunteering at Habitat ReStore.  For those of you who don’t know what Habitat ReStore is (because I didn’t know what it was myself before a few months ago!), Habitat ReStore is a hardware store affiliated with Habitat for Humanity.  The profits from the sales made at the store, go towards building more houses through Habitat for Humanity.

As a volunteer at the ReStore, I was held responsible for completing tasks such as organizing displays and pricing items.  However, after volunteering for a few weeks, I began to get frustrated with my service, not fully understanding the meaning behind my work, the ins and outs of Habitat, and how people benefit from Habitat as a whole.  While working for an organization affiliated with Habitat, I felt that my service should have been grand.  I wanted to help change people’s lives and do work that had a huge impact on others.  Making displays for the store and organizing merchandise felt too simplistic to have any real impact.

To solve this problem, I created a piece of artwork for the store’s Mission Wall Contest.  With an old picture frame, a ruler, nuts and bolts and other miscellaneous supplies, I decorated my piece, and inserted what I consider to be the most important facts about Habitat’s work into the individual frames.

Overall, I consider the project to be a huge success.  My piece won third place in the contest, but more importantly, I was able to learn about the organization I was serving with, while using creativity as a means to bring about social change. If anyone benefited from observing my piece, I would be ecstatic, but I am also just happy knowing that I was able to achieve a degree of personal growth while creating the piece.

-Mika ❤

Leave a Reply

