Ruffle Scarves: Cheesy or Fabulous?

SAM_0846

Probably every knitter is familiar with the Ruffle scarf. A few years ago, knitters would be most likely to create these scarves by using short rows, or by crocheting. However, today ruffle scarves are easier to make than ever, and have taken the knitting world by storm, with many yarn brands marketing their own self-ruffling yarn.

When this trend first surfaced, I did not want anything to do with it. I thought that ruffle yarn was in the same ballpark as the “Fun Fur” yarn by Lion Brand. If used correctly, it can be fabulous. If used incorrectly, it will look cheesy.

Partially due to my fear of cheesiness, and partially due to my reluctance to jump on the ruffle yarn bandwagon, I refused to try ruffled yarn, and completed wrote it off as “joke” yarn. Secretly, though, I was always curious about what it was like to knit with it.

Over Christmas, my best friend sent me ruffle yarn as a gift. It was apart of Red Heart’s Boutique Sashay collection. I created my first ruffle scarf, and COMPLETELY fell head over heals in love with the yarn, which was incredibly easy to work with, and featured deep, dramatic colors. Yummy yarn for sure.

SAM_0836

Now, I guess you could consider me somewhat of a ruffle yarn addict. When I go to Michaels, I have to look at every brand’s interpretation of ruffle yarn and spend several minutes admiring each of the various colorways. What makes these scarves most alluring to me is the seemingly infinite amounts of colorways and yarn types to choose from. I love being able to make one scarf in so many different ways. It’s as if I can create a different scarf for every mood.

So, to make a long story short, I think these scarves are FABULOUS. If you haven’t tried making one yet, I say go for it! 🙂

What do you think about this hot trend in knitting? Cheesy or Fabulous?

-Mika

2 thoughts on “Ruffle Scarves: Cheesy or Fabulous?

Leave a Reply

